Awards In Italian Culture 2006

David Alan Brown

David Alan Brown is the Curator of Italian Paintings at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. As a Fulbright Scholar, Dr. Brown’s major field of research has been Italian Renaissance Painting and he has published much of this research on artists such as Leonardo, Raphael, Titian, and Correggio. He has curated numerous exhibitions at the National Gallery of Art including “Raphael and America,” “Lorenzo Lotto,” “Virtue & Beauty: Leonardo’s Ginevra de Benci”, the Renaissance “Portraits of Women,” and his most recent “Bellini, Giorgione, Titian, and the Renaissance of Venetian Painting.” In addition to his extensive curatorial background and his many awards, Dr. Brown’s strong interest in promoting Italian art in the United States may be also recognized at Georgetown University where he has been a lecturer throughout the 1980s and today. In recognition of his achievement in furthering the knowledge and appreciation of Italian Culture in America, Brown was awarded the Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana in February 2003.

Salvatore Settis

Salvatore Settis, formerly Director of The Getty Research Institute from 1994 to1999, is currently the Director of the “Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa”. His interests range far and wide, from archeology to art history. He has written extensively on Greek and Roman classical sculpture, on the Laocoon and the Trajan Column, among other subjects, as well as on Renaissance masterpieces like Giorgione's Tempest. Settis' books have left a long- lasting mark in every field he has explored. In recent years he has engaged himself in a passionate defense of the Italian cultural and artistic patrimony. Settis has vowed to protect and reform the "Beni Culturali, Ambientali and Paesaggistici" in pamphlets such as “Italia S.p.A. L'assalto al patrimonio culturale” (2002) and “Battaglie senza eroi” (2005). He is the recipient of many awards, among which Premio Viareggio (1978 and 2003) and Premio Federico Zeri (2003). Since 2001 he has been nominated Cavaliere di Gran Croce and Consigliere dell'Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana.

Previous FIAC Awards

Brian J. Ferriso
Antonia Pasqua Recchia

Glenn Lowry
Rossella Vodret

Malcolm Rogers
Roberto Cecchi

Anne Poulet
Nicola Spinosa

Phillip de Montebello
Cristina Acidini

David Alan Brown
Salvatore Settis

Keith Christiansen
Antonio Paolucci